This is my Fight scene ♫ ♫

“Write a post in response to today’s one-word prompt”: FIGHT

I don’t always make good use of all the daily prompts available out there on the interwebs. But I came across this one and thought I’d use it to share a scene from my work-in-progress, Last Leaf Falls.

Note: Certain names have been changed to protect the identity of the fictional.

I forced my hands to unclench and tried to relax. “We suspected right. He is behind Dylan’s little coming-of-age ritual.”
Sophie zeroed in on me like a missile. “He forced it?”
“No. He said Dylan had a choice. That he chose power over being pathetic or something.” I left out the whole “he did it for me” part. I leaned back in my chair, balancing on the back legs. “I followed him and we ended up at the cemetery. I tried for more info, but he wasn’t playing fair.”
“So there was a fight?”
“No. He cheated at Gin Rummy and then we sat down for tea.”
“So yes then.”
“There may have been a bit of a brouhaha, if you will.”
Sophie sighed. “Malaya, be serious.”
“Oh seriously. We had a little scuffle. A kerfuffle. A tussle-”
“Mm, yes, funny girl. Were you hurt?”
 “Only my feelings.” I pictured Emyr’s bloody face. “Seriously Sophie, it was no big deal.”
 “You say he went to the old cemetery? What did he do there?”
I let my chair legs drop back to the floor. “Nothing.”

Find my other posts on Last Leaf Falls here, here and here.

Visit me on Facebook and Twitter!

treewithcaption

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Last Leaf Falls, The Writing Process and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is my Fight scene ♫ ♫

  1. Pingback: Reaching for Light | sharonholly

Leave a Reply

