The Gratitude Files

So recently I saw that the daughter of my good friend is now old enough to be insightful and amazing and has her own Facebook page to prove it. There were many examples of why this is, but what really stood out were the regular posts, each accompanied by a picture of things, people and activities that she is grateful for and why.

She has inspired this new category of posts, The Gratitude Files, which I hope to post…daily? Yes. Daily.

tutoring3The first thing I will add to the list of things I’m thankful for, is the opportunity to be a tutor. I recently became a member of a literacy centre that focuses on people of all ages and abilities who want to become more literate. Apparently, a whopping 42% of Canadian adults between the ages of 16 and 65 have low literacy skills. Some are native English speakers struggling with literacy because of a lack of opportunities and some are very educated people trying to learn English as a second language.

My learner is a lady who was a lawyer before she came to Canada from her home in west-central Africa. She’s an extremely motivated learner who seems to like nothing more than a pile of homework. (If only I had that kind of academic ambition in school…)

I look forward to this new relationship as an opportunity for us both to grow and learn.

Okay, that’s enough of being a cornball.

What are you grateful for?

 

*This is the beginning of a series I started with this post.  You’ll find them all under a sub-category of “Points of Light and Everyday Life”—or by heading to the very bottom of my blog where the tags live happily in alphabetical order—and looking for “The Gratitude Files” tag.  

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in The Gratitude Files and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Gratitude Files

  1. Harliqueen says:

    What a lovely post 🙂 I’m grateful for my family, and the immense amount of support they give.

    Like

  2. sharonholly says:

    Thanks Harliqueen! I’m grateful that you spent the time to read and comment on my post 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Ridiculous Internet Quizzes, Auras and The Gratitude Files | sharonholly

  4. Pingback: My tea corner | sharonholly

  5. Pingback: Landslide – The Gratitude Files, Music Edition | sharonholly

  6. Pingback: Hell, Handbaskets and The Moment of Truth – Today’s Edition of The Gratitude Files | sharonholly

  7. Pingback: Giving Thanks for Mindy | sharonholly

  8. Pingback: Growing Knowledge from Books | sharonholly

Leave a Reply

