Out of Character?

Very funny post on what not to do when writing. I don’t think I’m guilty of any of the character cliches, but it couldn’t hurt to make sure one of my villains isn’t too much of a brooding rebel…

 

You can find the rest of my posts on the subject of writing, under the category The Writing Process, found in the right hand column of my blog.

vic briggs

Disclaimer: No books have been harmed in the writing of this article. All characters have been provided with a safety briefing before participating in the experiment and have signed waivers to that effect.

I write fiction not for my readers and not for myself. I write fiction for the sake of those odd heroic characters that are contained therein. They are counting on me as much as I am counting on them.
― Nicholas Trandahl

business-commerce-character-character_acting-empathize-empathised-empathizing-bven898l.jpg

I don’t know about you, but my life is a novel populated by troublesome characters.

If you don’t believe me, you need only peruse an account of my latest altercation with one particularly recalcitrant specimen of their number: Let me get into your head! screameth the author, pulling at her hair in desperation.

It is not unusual for writers to have a love-hate relationship with their characters. As authors we want to be…

View original post 1,524 more words

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in The Writing Process. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

