17 Misused And Made-Up Words That Make You Rage

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24487-1380904728-27

17 Misused And Made-Up Words That Make You Rage (click!)

This is the funniest thing on the internet, I’m sure of it.

I may be guilty of #12 on occasion, which is a little embarrassing considering I have apparently told people I may cause them to vomit….? Must remember: I feel nauseated. Those fumes are nauseous. 

But, irregardless of my own guilt, the ones that grate on me the most are “For all intensive purposes” (#8) and one that somehow did not make it on the list, but I will add: definitely spelled as defiantly. It seriously irks me, but at the same time gives me a laugh as it changes the meaning of the sentence in new and interesting ways!

For example, “I am defiantly going shopping today!” Well, good on you. You show ’em. With all that hard-core shopping. “I am defiantly not impressed.” I suppose not being impressed by someone could be considered an act of defiance. “His eyes are defiantly blue, not green.” Damn those defiant eyes. How dare they mock me with their blueness.

Oh, words are fun, aren’t they?

Exciting Update: According to Merriam-Webster, I wasn’t wrong at all! It is perfectly okay to say nauseous instead of nauseated. Phew

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in A Few of My Favourite Things and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

