Wedding Anniversaries

Wedding Anniversaries

Recently it was my parents 43 year anniversary. 43 years! How is that even possible?? To live with someone day in and day out for over four decades?

Okay. Not the point.

I haven’t been in the habit of buying cards for special occasions in a long time. Honestly, I just don’t see the point, and most cards I come across are boring or cheesy or worse—boring and cheesy.

But this time around, I just happened upon what I felt was the perfect anniversary card for my family.

You can see the front of the card in the pic. Here’s the whole verse:

The story of our family is made of many things—
from silly jokes
to good-night kisses,
from nicknames
to summer vacations,
from hard good-byes
to the most joyous homecomings.

The story of our family
is made up of love
and time
and memory…
all the things
that really matter.

And at the heart of our story
will always be
the two of you.

Happy Anniversary Mom & Dad,
and um…thanks Hallmark.

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
Image | This entry was posted in Points of Light & Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wedding Anniversaries

  1. Leanna says:

    Normally I prefer getting blank cards and writing my own stuff, but then Hallmark pulls shit like this and one-ups anything I could conceive of in a decent amount of time. Great card and happy anniversary to your folks!

    Like

  2. sharonholly says:

    I know, right? Normally I’m in the “Hallmark-is-evil” camp, but I just couldn’t say no to this one.
    Thanks Leanna:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

