Sitting Down to Write with a Cup of Tea

My daisy mug

I’ve had this mug since the year 2003. I remember this because at the time I was working (however briefly) at a sleepy little resort in a secluded area of the Rocky Mountains. Days off were few and far between so when both my roommate and I had two days off in a row, we excitedly drove to the nearest civilization, which was a quaint little tourist town in the mountains.

Even though we hadn’t been at the resort for long, we were nonetheless relieved to be surrounded by the bustle of tourists and shopkeepers, and we enthusiastically handed over our meager earnings to just buy “stuff”.

Sure, we had a mission in mind: hot chocolate mix and something to drink it out of, but that didn’t stop us from making the most of our trip to town. The only other purchase I actually remember making was of a gorgeous calendar with artwork that may or may not have been by local artists.

But what really made my day, was heading to the dollar store. I know, I know, out of all the little locally owned independent shops full of beautiful things, I chose the dollar store as my favourite?? There was one very good reason, and that reason was this little guy:

My favourite mug

My favourite mug

 

Hard to believe it’s been ten years of tea since! 

And now it’s time to get back to doing what goes best with drinking a glorious cup of tea and what I had romantically envisioned myself doing all those years ago in the mountains (mistakenly s0): writing my novel!

 

 

Do you have a favourite mug with a story to tell?

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
Image | This entry was posted in A Few of My Favourite Things, Points of Light & Everyday Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

