Purple Peppers & Fried Green Tomatoes

ImageOn Sunday it was one of those beautifully somewhat-rare sunny-with-a-cool-breeze days that just makes you want to close your eyes and spread your arms and soak it all in. I’m not big on extreme temperatures so those kinds of days are supremely awesome to me.

And since it was such a lovely day out, we decided to check out the local farmer’s market. It’s still pretty early in the year for there to be too much bounty, but I’m sure this will soon change. On my little outing, I purchased me some delectable beef jerky, some green tomatoes and one purple pepper. As you may have guessed, said pepper was only purchased because of my penchant for the colour purple.

Isn’t alliteration awesome?? Anyway. Apparently, purple peppers are actually red peppers that haven’t ripened yet and are supposed to be less sweet and more tart in taste. As far as the green tomatoes go….I am so excited to experiment with frying them. I’ve tried making them before, but without much effort, and so the end result was rather predictable: I made me some mediocre munchies. But not this time. This time, I’m going all out and actually breading the tomato slices first. Yes, that’s right, previous attempts at fried green tomatoes were boring and breadless. So, so sad.

deliciousness

deliciousness

Here’s a recipe from the farmer’s almanac website: (I will probably alter and improvise it though as I think recipes are more like loose guidelines)

Ingredients:

3 medium green tomatoes
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
2/3 cup breadcrumbs or cornmeal
1/4 cup olive oil
salt
pepper

Directions:
Cut tomatoes into 1/2 inch slices and sprinkle slices with salt and pepper. Place flour, milk, eggs, and breadcrumbs in separate dishes. Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Dip each tomato slice in milk, flour, eggs, and breadcrumbs, in that order. Fry the coated tomato until brown, adding olive oil as needed. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Points of Light & Everyday Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

