Hiding in the Writer’s Closet

The fall of a leaf is a whisper to the living ~ Russian Proverb 

Okay, so I’ve been hiding out in my own writer’s closet for quite some time now. Crouching, in the dark, holding myself, rocking back and forth, whispering soothing words to myself like…hush, lull, console, pacify, placate, you get the idea.

Why have I been hiding out in the dark? My life has been turned upside down, by me, ’cause maybe I’m a masochist that way, and I just can’t seem to focus on anything but living day-to-day. And maybe that’s okay.

Maybe I’ve been too absorbed in moments that have already passed and moments that may never come, when I should be paying attention to what’s happening right now. Because that’s all there really is.

I bought and assembled a new desk and office chair (yes, I’m quite proud of myself),  so now there’s no excuse. Novel here I come.

Lately, Malaya, who, if I haven’t mentioned before, is the main character of my book, has been tapping at the window of my mind. She’s slowly losing her patience with me. I’ve cruelly abandoned her in a universe full of demons, and I’m afraid she’ll never forgive me.

I stumbled across an OK Go song I don’t remember hearing before, and I love the video because it’s toast, and I love toast, but also because the title of the song caught my attention, as it’s one of the working titles of my work-in-progress: Last Leaf, or Last Leaf Falls.

I’m posting the video here, because it’s such a lovely song and I think it’s more than worth a share. Enjoy!

 

You can find the rest of my posts on the subject of writing, under the category The Writing Process, found in the right hand column of my blog.

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Points of Light & Everyday Life, The Writing Process and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hiding in the Writer’s Closet

  1. I’m sure you’ll get back to the novel soon. The creative cycle is full of lulls. I’m in one now myself. They come unexpectedly and I think the best thing to do is accept rather than resist. Good luck getting back to it!

    Like

  2. sharonholly says:

    Thanks Charlotte! I think I need it 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh, no. I’m sorry to hear that you’re having a rough time of it. You clearly have a way with words and a passion for writing, though. Good luck to you!

    Like

  4. sharonholly says:

    Thanks for the support Caryn, and thanks for checking out my post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

