Procrastinating on the Update and Updating on the Procrastination

“It is the job that is never started that takes longest to finish.” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien

Oh shameless, shameless procrastination. This post has been waiting in my drafts for a good month! Since I haven’t written in a little while, I thought I’d give a brief update of what I’ve been up to. God knows, it hasn’t been…

Writing

Nothing much to report, as I haven’t been doing any of the necessary re-writes or edits of my WIP of late. I’ll beat myself up over it…tomorrow.

My new project for the time being is a 12 week program called The Artist’s Way: The Spiritual Path to Creativity, by Julia Cameron. I started reading her book and following the program at the end of November. I’m hoping that this book will steer me back on the right path and help me reclaim my creative mojo.

Recently Read Books

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Wow. What a powerful book. When I saw the trailer for the movie I had no interest in going to the theatre to watch. Who wants to be a blubbering mess in public with a bunch of strangers? No, I thought, this is definitely a rental. Eventually. For when I feel like having my heart ripped out.

Then my co-worker insisted I read it, and about two years later, read it I did! I didn’t cry through the whole novel as expected. It was not written in an overly sentimental way. No, the tears were saved for the last chapter which may or may not end as you expect it to.

I really enjoyed (translated as was torn up over) this book. It was written from several points of view, and I liked that Kate’s perspective was saved for the end. I respected and admired the character of Anna, and it was her dilemma that was the main focus of the book. But most of all, I liked how it didn’t try and tell you what was right or wrong. Who could say what they would choose under such circumstances?

Currently Reading

Room, by Emma Donoghue (just started) and The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. The Artist’s Way is taking precedence as it demands my free time between the chapter readings and the “homework”. In fact, I should probably be using this time to work on the program, rather than sipping on this way-too-sweet red wine and blogging. Sigh. So little time.

As an aside, I really don’t recommend Flip Flop’s Cabernet Sauvignon. Holy Sweetness.

Recently Watched Movie

Hot Tub Time Machine

Stupid, stupid movie. In my humble opinion. Of course. I watched Hot Tub Time Machine by accident. Seriously. I was on the Movie Central movies list, and I somehow accidently clicked on it, and then for some reason, it wouldn’t let me exit the movie. Try as I might, and I tried mightily, (without having to get up off the floor to turn on the the lights to investigate why I was unable to exit), I could not select a different movie!

So it started, and I thought, that’s okay, perhaps I’ve been unfair to this particular genre. Perhaps, I’ve really been missing out. Nope. I kinda thought this one had potential given the 80’s theme and the silly-but-unique premise of a magical hot tub, but that was only used as a vehicle to deliver the oh so overdone frat boy humour.

New Year To-Do List

Attend a writer’s conference/workshop.

Officially join a gym. No contract please.

Buy a bike to enjoy the whole 5 months of not-winter.

Join a club. Possibly…hiking? Yes. Hiking.

Finish that novel! (I wonder how many people have that one on their list?)

Current Events

On the agenda for this month, is yoga, yoga, yoga! I’m trying out a new studio with new classes and I’m especially excited to try the Sattva Drum class!

Related articles

You can find the rest of my posts on the subject of writing, under the category The Writing Process, found in the right hand column of my blog.

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Currently Reading, Points of Light & Everyday Life, The Writing Process and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Procrastinating on the Update and Updating on the Procrastination

  1. Barb says:

    glad to see you are writing about writing (is that meta writing?) bu now you have to stop fooling around and finish that book and find an editor..I can’t wait to read your novel…with love your big sister who always tried to tell you what to do… 🙂

    Like

  2. sharonholly says:

    ha ha…subtle point taken, thanks Barb!

    Like

Leave a Reply

