Girl On Fire – Post A Week Challenge

Post A Week Challenge 2011:

Prompt: What’s the most on fire you’ve ever been? Figuratively, literally, whatever.

op_pics_003_z24xThe most on fire I’ve been is up to my waist in flames. I was probably around 17, and my friends and my boyfriend and I decided to go camping. So we took a vehicle through some rough terrain, got it stuck and had to push it out. You can imagine what happened then, as the tires spun violently: a relentless spewing of mud in the face. Mostly mine.

And that was how my little adventure began.

Let me tell you, you’re not having fun, until spinning tires spit mud in your face at an alarming speed, you’re covered from head to toe in it, are then accidentally doused in gasoline, lit on fire and tackled to the ground.

It was not ideal weather for a camping trip, but we didn’t let that stop us. It had been raining, (hence the enormous amounts of mud), and we were having trouble starting a campfire. My high school sweetheart thought he would help the situation, without warning, by throwing some gasoline into the mix, from where he stood, at the exact moment that a friend was setting a lit match to the paper and kindling. Like magic, or basic chemistry, the fire immediately flashed back to the open container in his hand.

In his panic, he dropped and kicked, yes kicked, the container away from him, splashing me with gasoline in the process. Accidentally. I think. I immediately became engulfed in flames. It was a strange, toasty sensation. Funny to think, my first thought upon being on fire, was “poor guy, he’s probably feeling really bad right now”. Too bad my first thought wasn’t “stop, drop and roll”.

It’s okay though. I wasn’t horribly disfigured because I had some quick thinking friends who tackled me to the ground and proceeded to beat me, repeatedly.

Best camping trip EVER.

Any camping horror stories to share?

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Post A Week Challenge 2011 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

