Reading Abstinence

I’m ashamed to say, I started reading Neil Gaiman’s “The Graveyard Book” a good long while ago and have only made it to chapter three. This is not because I don’t like the book. I very much do. But for some reason, I go through these bouts of I-can’t-read-another-page-of-a-book-without-clawing-out-my-eyeballs. It’s just a phase, I know, but I wish it would end sooner rather than later. I’ve been contemplating what causes these bouts of reading abstinence, and have decided to blame my thoughts.

You see, I’ve always been a daydreamer. It’s an escape for me. And it’s where my stories come from. But sometimes I find I need an escape from the daydreams. Some days, (or weeks or months), it’s like the daydreams take over. They melt in to each other like a  bad run-on sentence and I find it more and more difficult to make sense of it all.

The Puke Machine

Like I mentioned in my previous post, it’s not healthy to just let thoughts and stories and words go around and around and around in your head. This just leads to word-puke. Or thought-puke. Whichever you prefer. When I’ve left my thoughts on the merry-go-round for too long, there’s no room for anything else, like reading, and certainly no room for anything productive like writing.

That said, I’m going to try to remedy the reading dry spell, by writing about my current reads, as I read them. Call it an experiment. It might not take. I can’t know.

I currently have two books on the go, sort of. (As I said, my brain cells are stalled and I haven’t been reading, so they’ve been “on the go” for quite some time now.) These two books are The Graveyard Book  by Neil Gaiman (Middle-Grade Fiction) and J.K. Rowling The Genius Behind Harry Potter by Sean Smith (acclaimed biography of, you guessed it, J.K. Rolling).

I will create a new category and I shall call it “Current Reads”. Exciting, isn’t it? Doesn’t it just give you tingles all over? No? Just me then? Okay. First post, here we come. Tomorrow.

What do you do when you’re in a reading rut?

About sharonholly

writer, reader, music-lover, glamorous facilitator of literacy... facebook.com/SharonHolly.Writer twitter.com/SharonH_Writes
This entry was posted in Currently Reading, Points of Light & Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

